Mirror, Mirror: A New Poem

Yesterday, I met with an old friend whom I hadn’t seen in about 8 years. We went out for breakfast and talked for 6 hours straight. It was a weird thing; I couldn’t stop talking. It was like, finally, for the first time in ages, I felt like I had connected with someone who was so much like me that I couldn’t tear myself away. She said things I had thought in the secrets of my mind, expressed feelings I had never spoken of to anyone else. Yesterday, I found myself reflected in someone else and in the process, I realized I had also found myself. This poem is inspired by that meeting as well as the incredible sense of reconnection with myself which resulted. 

 

rockwell_mirror

 

Mirror, Mirror



Today
The stalemate ends.
Today
The inner voices
Cease.
The lies,
The numbing disillusionment,
All of it.
No more.
Never again.

For too long
I forced myself
Into a rigid, unforgiving hole.
Too long,
I denied my truest form,
Denying the expression of my heart 
And my soul.

Lost in darkness,
I was blind.
Directionless
Tripping over the leftover
Souvenirs I was able to find. 
Too afraid to pick them up,
Uncertain of those scary little fragments
I’d long ago left behind.

Now, I have seen 
The Light.
I have remembered 
The Truth.


Now, I open my eyes.

There is a mirror.
She is covered in dust
One inch thick.
My hand shakes as I brush 
It away,
Watch as the grey clumps burst as 
They hit the floor.

Sunrays.
Radiance.
All of it reflected back.

I smile.

Hello
Beautiful, 
Lovely 
Me.

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mirror, Mirror: A New Poem

  1. Dyane says:

    Hey, thx Steve. 🙂 That means a lot. I know poetry is your thing. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

