Creative Writing and Consistency: Embrace a Style that Breaks the “Rules”

I reblogged this article because I think there is a lot of truth here. I think to write well, you have to know what the ‘rules’ are. But once that’s integrated, I think each writer needs to develop their own style and their own Voice. That comes, I think, by using the rules (or breaking them) in a way that fits with who we are and what it is we want to say. I hope you all enjoy this article.

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Today’s topic is creative writing and the rules that come with being with an author. You know the rules I mean: we’ve all heard them. I’ll reference each one by one later on.

Don’t feel like you have to obey the rules. All you have to do is to know the rules. Once you do, you can break them if you want to, as long as you break them consistently.

Consistency is the key. I got the idea for this post after I wrote yesterday’s, because yesterday I talked about point of view and characterization. Specifically, I talked about how to characterize secondary characters when your point of view doesn’t allow you to “head hop.”

  • Don’t head hop. This is one of those rules people like to throw around for a reason. You shouldn’t head hop if you’re limiting yourself to a limited POV. When your narrator only follows…

View original post 532 more words

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Essays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

