Shooting Stars-a new poem

Sigh, I guess it’s just one of those days…

Shooting Stars

You demand,
I give.
You leave,
I follow.
When you’re up,
I climb the thorny vines to
Reach where you are.
Then you climb down.
And I fall.

I shadow,
You lead.
Where you go,
I go.
But then you run,
So fast and so far ahead,
I am quickly undone.
Adrift in the darkness
I fall behind.

We are
Two celestial bodies,
Ever circling.
Eyeing one another
But never touching.

We are
A fire quickly doused,
Four walls
Yet not a house.

So close and yet
So far.
Always falling,
We are
Shooting stars.

D.Forde (July 2013)

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shooting Stars-a new poem

  1. This so beautifully depicts the confusion of love to me …. Sometimes unattainable. Good work xx

    Like

  2. glenperk says:

    Yolanda, beat me to the punch. I’m always behind. 😦

    Like

  3. I absolutely love this Dyane. I think it’s my fave. I found it on Tumblr! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

