Cowards

I’m pissed. I don’t often get this upset about things, as I’m often like a duck: things tend to roll off my back. But today, I came across a post from a friend that just got my goat. Before I get there, let me say this: Through the Internet, I’ve come across many incredible and gifted people, people with talent and brains and a point of view. Just because we are separated by a computer doesn’t change the fact that they are still real people. I’ve come to appreciate each one of then for their uniqueness and for how we, though we are different, enrich each other’s lives.

Back to my point. I don’t get how some people tend to forget this important fact and choose to send hurtful, damaging messages to someone because it’s ‘safe’ to do it on the Internet. I use ‘choose’ for a reason since people DECIDE to act this way. No one suddenly loses control of their hands on a keyboard to type insults and threats to another person. I just read a post from a friend who was attacked for a story she had written. For those of you reading this who don’t write, writing is an extremely personal and intimate art. From the deepest depths of who we are, we express ourselves and then share that vulnerability with the world. Any artist could make the same claim, as creativity comes from the soul; when we are attacked, often it can feel as though our own soul or our very identity is being crushed. It just pisses me off that people feel they can sit comfortably behind a computer and shoot off nonsense because they think they are right. What happened to having a discussion? To two minds of differing opinions actually exchanging ideas and communicating? So what if you don’t agree? It’s the mature thing to do. It’s how decent people act.

I don’t usually get up on a soapbox like this, but it’s not the first time I’ve seen someone I know get lambasted online like that. And I think it’s just sad and a cowardly thing to do to another person.

End.

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Essays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cowards

  1. Very eloquent post Dyane. I agree with you 100%. I know how it feels to be bashed online. It’s happen to me a couple of times, and each time I thought the same way you do. There are plenty of ways to communicate with a person in private, and discuss whatever it is that’s bothering you so. There’s no need to publicly humiliate someone to get your point across. That is an act of not only a coward, but a sad, envious, bitter person, in my opinion.

    Like

    • Dyane says:

      Sorry you had to go through that. 😦 Internet is great for some things but it also facilitates all kinds of underhanded, mean behavior. Sadly, dignity gets thrown out the window to satisfy the compulsion to put some down so they can feel better.

      Like

Leave a Reply

