Author Interview with Rebekkah Ford, Writer of YA Paranormal Books

becki1

Lovers of YA and Paranormal books, today’s guest is right up your alley! Rebekkah Ford is on the scene, creating strong female characters and drumming up complex human and other-worldly relationships while scaring the pants off us.

Read on to learn about her fascinating beginnings, what makes this talented author tick, and best of all, how you can become part of her Paranormal world…

Hello Rebekkah! So great to have you with us! I can’t wait to learn more about you and your books.  

1. Can you start by telling us a little about yourself?

Sure. I grew up in a family that dealt with the paranormal. When my parents were married, they were the directors of the UFO Investigator’s League. They not only took on UFO/E.T. cases, they also investigated paranormal activity and Big Foot sightings. I think that’s why the unknown fascinates me so much and why I love writing stories about it. I’m happily married and seven years ago we moved from Prescott, Arizona to rural North Dakota. I live in a farming community of about 1,800 people and love it here. However, I do miss the woods. I don’t have any kids. I can’t have them. I do, though, have a cat who I consider my kid. LOL. I love to write stories and to read. I also love coffee, to shop at antique stores, to go out to eat, history, philosophy, theology, connecting with other authors, my fans, and I have an irreverent sense of humor. Oh, and one of my favorite TV shows is The Vampire Diaries.

2. Are you interested in other forms of artistic expression besides writing? Where does writing fit in, and why are you drawn to it? What keeps you motivated/inspired? 

Yes, I would like to write a screen play one day. But I guess I should say no to your first question because in order to create a screen play I have to write it. LOL. I have a day job, so I write every chance I get. What motivates me is my passion to tell stories. It entertains me, and I have to write. I can’t shut it off.

3. What forms of writing (short stories, poetry, novels, essays, etc.) and genres do you prefer and why? What can you never see yourself writing?

I prefer writing novels, and the genres I like the most is young and new adult. I can see myself never writing steam punk.

4. I’ve read books which annoyed me to the point where I wanted to throw them across the room. As a reader, what do you think makes a good story? What’s one thing a ‘bad’ book taught you to not do in your own writing?

What makes a good story is relatable characters, a well thought out plot, and originality. The one thing a bad book taught me was to not be a lazy writer. For example, adverbs. Don’t overuse them.

5. As a writer, what elements do you find are the most crucial to include in your stories? What are your strengths and weaknesses?

Setting the stage for what it is to come and the mood I think are the most crucial when you begin your story. My strengths are having the ability to get inside the character’s head, which allows me to create three dimensional characters, knowing when to end a chapter, and dialog. I think my
weaknesses are second guessing myself, and I tend to be too wordy.

6. Who/what are the biggest influences in your writing? How do they influence you?

Anne Rice has always been a big influence on me. I love how she writes. She made being a vampire dark but at the same time romantic. If that makes sense.

7. What draws you to your preferred genre? What do you think makes it unique? And why is it so popular? 

What draws me at the moment to young adult is me still feeling like a teenager and how much fun I have writing about that age group. I think this genre is unique because an author can write the story in such a way to where it has crossover potential. Anybody can read and relate to it, because every one of us went through those teenage years and knows what it’s like. I think that’s why YA is so popular.

8. Can you tell us about your books? What other projects are you working on?

My Beyond the Eyes trilogy is about a heartsick, teenage girl who has been receiving premonitions from a ghostly voice since the age of 4. One day she receives a haunting one about herself that changes her life forever. She goes from being an emotional teen to a strong, kick-ass girl who is destined to protect humanity against the dark spirits dwelling in soulless humans.
The project I’m working on at the moment is my third book in this trilogy, The Devil’s Third. I’m going through edits and rewrites with my editor, and it’ll to be published–if all goes according to plan–this fall.

About Beyond the Eyes

my cover “A thrilling, wholly satisfying first book to a new young adult series. It will keep you wanting more.”Valentina Cano, Carabosse’s Library
“Beyond the Eyes is haunting yet passionate. This breakout novel is quick and hip, a saucy mustread.”Charles Land, Judas Pistol 

Paige knows evil exists in this world, but she never imagined it would want something from her.

In the small town of Astoria, Oregon, surrounded by deep forest and endless mountains, another world thrives . . . a menacing one where dark spirits dwell in soulless humans.

Seventeen-yearold Paige Reed lives in this lush, picturesque setting. She’s not your average teen, though she appears to be. Not only is she heartsick, but she’s been receiving cryptic premonitions from a ghostly voice since the age of four. After she hears a haunting message about herself, supernatural occurrences begin to confuse her.

Nathan Caswell seems to peer into Paige’s soul, evoking a magnetic energy between them they cannot deny. They’re connected. But he’s no ordinary guy. He tracks dark spirits and becomes alarmed when they set their sights on Paige.

When two power-hungry malevolent beings make demands on her, she realizes then the fate of mankind rests in her hands. Her world quickly turns inside out where the impossible becomes possible, and in the end she’s faced with a life changing decision that will not only alter her existence but the world as she knows it.

Can a deeply troubled teen overcome her own demons in order to fight those lurking about? With the past and present colliding, Paige must make the ultimate mortal choice. Will it be the right one?

About Dark Spirits

Dark Spirits Cover

“Even more thrilling than the first. This is a captivating series you won’t put down and will leave you hungry for more.”Felicia Tatum, author of The White Aura
“Paige is a strong courageous character and Dark Spirits will make your heart pound with the emotion and action!”Julie Huss author of the I Am Just Junco series

Now immortal, Paige is emotionally and physically stronger than ever. She must find the location of the ancient incantations to prevent mass genocide. But the war against good and evil is spawning another war–a battle between the dark spirits themselves. Paige is saddled in the center of both growing revolutions and is ready to take on the dark forces. But Nathan’s
over-protectiveness prevents her from taking action, and he’s hiding things.

Paige’s personal life gets more complicated when Brayden arrives back in town and offers the equal partnership she desperately craves from Nathan. Then there’s Carrie and Tree, her two best friends and only family she has left. Unfortunate circumstances thrust them into Paige’s dark world, giving her no choice but to allow Nathan to arm them with combat techniques in hope they’ll be able to protect themselves.

Meanwhile, Paige is having visions and discovering abilities she was unaware of. When Anwar comes to visit, his weird behavior alarms her. Could he be turning to the dark side?

Time is running out. Paige not only needs to find the incantations but also to untangle the bands around her heart and make a decision that could leave her with a life worse than death–a life of betrayal from the ones she trusted most.

9. Why is promoting other writers on your blog important to you?

The support and camaraderie is very important to me because I think the world would be a better place if we paid it forward. I always do what I can to help and support other authors and bloggers and love doing it.

10. What do you find is the most difficult aspect of writing and how do you cope with it?

Writing the first chapter because it has to grab the reader from the start and the mood of the story has to be right. I cope with it by doing a lot of rewrites until I’m happy with it.

11. Who are your favourite writers and why?

Anne Rice, George Orwell, Stephen King, and J.K. Rowling. I love their imagination and the way they tell their stories.

12. What advice would you give to new writers, especially those looking to break into the horror or suspense genre?

Read and write a lot. Do research on what makes a good horror or suspense story. Join groups who are interested in the same genre. Write from your heart and what you’re passionate about. 

And above all, believe in yourself, even if other people don’t believe in you. If you really want to be an author, don’t let nobody stop you. You can do it.

13. How can readers get into contact with you?

Blog: http://themusingwriter.blogspot.com
Facebook Author Page: http://www.Facebook.com/RebekkahFord2012
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RebekkahFord

Where to find Rebekkah’s books:

Amazon:

Beyond the Eyes:

Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0088JF7HQ/

Paperback: http://www.amazon.com/Beyond-Eyes-Volume-Rebekkah-Ford/dp/0615652581/

Dark Spirits:

Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Dark-Spirits-Beyond-Eyes-ebook/dp/B00BEKJ9VG/

Paperback: http://www.amazon.com/Dark-Spirits-Beyond-Eyes-Volume/dp/0615756549/

Barnes & Noble: 

Beyond the Eyes:

Dark Spirits:  

Smashwords:

Beyond the Eyes: 

Dark Spirits: 

Indie Book World:

Beyond the Eyes: 

Dark Spirits: 

Rebekkah, it was great getting to know you more. Thank you so much for being with us today. Readers, you know what to do! Check out Rebekkah’s work and connect with her. I’m sure she’d love to hear from you.

See you all soon!

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Essays, Guest Blog, Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Author Interview with Rebekkah Ford, Writer of YA Paranormal Books

  1. Katie Cross says:

    Love it! She sounds great.

    Like

  2. Becki says:

    Thank you so much for having me and my books on your wonderful blog. I appreciate it. 🙂

    Like

  3. yobial3 says:

    Great interview ladies. Rebekkah is certainly an interesting writer. Good luck with all your books
    I wish you all the success in the world. 🙂

    Like

  4. Becki says:

    Thank you, Yolanda! You’re sweet, and so are you Dyane. 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: Author Interview with Rebekkah Ford, Writer of YA Paranormal Books | Bibliotropic.com

Leave a Reply

