Hoofin’ It: Taking the Book to the Streets

This has been an incredible weekend. As many of you know, my first book, The Purple Morrow, finally saw the ‘golden light’ of the Amazon/Kindle distribution sites (in the USA and Canada) and I also picked up my own copies of the book to sell. A life long dream come true!

Me and my ultra-proud Mom :D

Me and my ultra-proud Mom πŸ˜€

But then reality kicked in. I.Have.To.Sell.My.Own.Books.

WHAT???

I knew it was coming. But the selling aspect of this thing seemed like ages away when I signed the book contract except time does a funny thing–it runs out.

Luckily for me, I was proactive. Months ago, I started emailing around the city looking for shops that were friendly to unknown, local writers and found a few wonderful souls who were willing to stock copies of my book. Pierre Pare of Beazely BooksΒ is one such soul. This afternoon, my friend and I walked into his book shop and were received with a smile and intelligent conversation–how refreshing! How often does that happen these days? Well, in my city, its rare and when it happens, you take note.

Anyway, not only was the reception great but so was the whole bookstore experience. Since the chain stores popped up, it’s been ages since I walked into a small shop. What a loss! Just the smell of the books made me swoon. And then the titles of the used books took me waaaaay back. Remember A Wrinkle in Time? That was the first-ever sci-fi/fantasy book I’d read in elementary school. Then there were the old, old, old Nancy Drew books stacked on a shelf, you know the ones with the yellow spines and the line drawings in the covers? And the best part? A little girl had written her name and some notes on the cover–just like I used to! (Every 35+ woman reading this is probably weeping with happy memories! lol) Holding The Hidden Staircase in my hand made me hot and giddy–like a flood of amazing memories flooding back at once. No ebook could ever have that effect, I’ll tell you that!

Anyway, I think part of this post is to say a big thank you to Beazely Books for being so welcoming and supportive to a new author on the scene and for giving me a chance at moving ahead with the business part of this writing thing. Merci! πŸ˜€

Ignore the pigmy and check out my book IN THE FRONT WINDOW. Oh yeah, and my smile isn't bad, either. :D

Ignore the pigmy and check out my book IN THE FRONT WINDOW. Oh yeah, and my smile isn’t bad, either. πŸ˜€

Then I get home and a surprise was waiting for me. My wonderful father had left me a gift:

IMG_1475My own writing set to sign copies of my books!

IMG_1476You probably can’t see it, but written on the pen is Purple Morrow. πŸ˜€

So, the task of learning the business part of being an author continues. Thanks to friends and family, I have sold off a few books already (thank you so much you amazing people!), but there’s still a great big world out there. Today I’ve only just taken the first–though most important–big step.

Wish me luck!

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Essays, Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hoofin’ It: Taking the Book to the Streets

  1. You have an awesome family.

    Like

  2. Congratulations, I know how hard you have worked and how talented you are. You deserve all the success that I am sure will come toy you Dyane. Xx

    Like

    • Dyane says:

      Thanks Yolanda. πŸ™‚ This turned out to be a longer process than anticipated but I’m pleased with the outcome. Hopefully things will continue to roll along πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Su Halfwerk says:

    Congratulations on the release of “Purple Morrow.” I’m glad you’re starting off with positive and helpful experiences.
    Your parents are adorable, bless their hearts…and your smile is infectious. I’m writing this comment with a huge goofy smile on my face.
    Good luck.

    Like

  4. Katie Cross says:

    When I read this, the song ‘There She Goes’ popped into my head. I loved A Wrinkle in Time and The Hidden Staircase as well. What fantastic books!

    You’re going to dominate this whole book-selling thing. Seriously. You got this girl!

    Like

    • Dyane says:

      Aw thanks Katie! Saturday really was a highlight–very exciting, even if it was a small step. πŸ™‚ But it confirms that this is something I really want to do. And I know! Seeing those old books was like seeing an old friend. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Glynis says:

    Congratulations! Well deserved for all your hard work! I wish you even more success in the future!

    Like

  6. saracsnider says:

    How awesome to actually see your book in a bookstore! Well done and congratulations! πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

