My Writing Process Blog Tour

So this is new for me: I’ve been invited to participate in the “My Writing Process” blog tour. I thought this was a really cool activity as I’m constantly thinking about how I write, what makes me tick, and how I translate my ideas into a story so I figured why not try and get some of that down on paper, so to speak. Many thanks to Glynis Rankin and Amanda Staley , two wonderful writers who thought to include me in this tour. Both of these women have been wonderful supporters of Dropped Pebbles and my writing, so it was an absolute honor to be contacted by them for this activity. Please click on their hyperlinks to find out more about them and what they are working on. You won’t be disappointed!

Rules:  Answer the four questions below, link back to the person who invited you, and name the people who will be posting the following Monday

doll

1)    What am I working on?

Right now, I am currently re-writing Wolf’s Bane the sequel to my fantasy novel The Purple Morrow. The book was actually considered ‘finished’ for a long time only I realized while writing book 3 (still un-named) that Bane needed some revising so I went back and rewrote sections. It wasn’t a tough decision to make—I believe the changes are improving the book. In any case, I am enjoying how it’s turning out; I feel like new life is being breathed into the story and I’m eager to finish it. Aside from that, I’m also actively contributing to my writing blog, Dropped Pebbles, where I share about the lessons learned about the writer’s life and it’s up and downs, as well as doing what I can to promote other writers and their work.

2)    How does my work differ from others of its genre?

The Rise of the Papilion Series was written based on what I would have liked to have read when I couldn’t find anything matching my expectations in the stores. I wanted something clean, well-written with believable, deep characters that included fantastic and action-oriented elements. The series is important to me as it is very much a multi-cultural/multi-ethnic world. The evolution of languages, cultures, mythologies and lore were fun to explore. I also gave myself the freedom to play with style, voice, POV, as well as trying my hand at a love story as well as swordplay and action sequences. The book has a bit of everything I love to experience in books. As the series progresses, so does the reader’s immersion into the world of Marathana, and new elements are added: magic and spirituality, and other people groups, for examples. In the end, I think I produced something that reflects me as a person and as a writer.

3)    Why do I write what I do?

Writing is communication! I write all kinds of things from novels, short stories, flash fiction and sometimes poems. I like that when I write I can say what I really think or feel about things, or explore ideas. I also appreciate the opportunity it creates to open a sort of dialogue with readers by trying to connect with them on an emotional basis. When someone writes that they were affected by a piece or that they could relate to one, that’s such a great feeling–mission accomplished. It’s also fun to be creative! I love working out the best way to present a scene, how to draw out certain elements to define character or plot-related elements. I love crafting through writing, playing with the various skills in my toolbox to achieve something neat. As long as I’m not afraid to try I feel I can do anything.

4)    How does your writing process work?

I don’t know that I have a specific process that I follow each time. I basically write when I have time. I spend a lot of time thinking about a story, its themes and symbols, and characters sometimes for a long time before I ever sit down at the computer. When I pen a short story or flash fiction, I almost always write and edit in one sitting—unless it’s a story over 3K or so which requires a few mental breaks, especially for the editing aspect. As compared to novels, there is something satisfying about creating something in one shot as opposed to over the course of a year, which is one reason I enjoy writing ‘shorts’ so much. Contrary to common wisdom, whether it’s a book or story, I DO edit while creating. I don’t plan my stories to the nth degree so if something feels off, or the story takes an unexpected turn, there are times I feel I have to go back and address the issue before I am able to finish. Other times I simply get stuck in the logic of the story, so rereading while fixing plot issues enables me to finish. I like puzzles and, to me, managing all the elements required to write a story is like completing a puzzle or untangling a knot. When the problem is ‘solved’ and the story is completed, it’s one of the best, most satisfying feelings in the world. 

Thanks for reading everyone! It’s been so great sharing a little about My Writing Process with you. See below for a quick preview of what coming up in the next few weeks:

Phil Partington, an author, editor and blogger.  He’s a writing enthusiast of many years, though he’s only spent the last five of them honing his novel-writing skills. Phil’s focus tends to be fantasy, horror and suspense. The Siren’s Lyric is his first novel.

Cairo Amani, who hosts the blog The Hungry Page. Cai tracks her journey to publish Speculative Fiction with Queer POC Main Characters. Her WIP is called Hand of the Silver God.

 

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Essays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to My Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. I always enjoy reading your insightful posts, Dyane. I had not really thought about how in doing a series a book can retrospectively require revising adding something to help connect it with the next. I am glad you have such great skill and a thoughtful process. As you look forward to untangling a knot or puzzle, I often feel the same in learning how creative people come to make their decisions as much as they can explain, anyhow.

    Like

    • Dyane says:

      Thanks, Rebecca 🙂 This is the first time I’ve written a series so it’s all new to me. But I like having my hand in two stories at once since I’m not boxed in to anything. We’ll see how it turns out in the end! Lol Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

  2. Joshua says:

    I am doing the same Dyane. I have two characters that will appear as minor side rolls in a later novel, and I realized that given them more prominence in the current novel will really tie it all together for me.

    Like

    • Dyane says:

      🙂 Yep, you have to do what works despite what other people say. I’ve been told not to go back and revise before the last book was done, but that doesn’t work for me. Glad you came to your own conclusion about how best to write your book, Joshua. Best of luck. And thanks for reading and commenting. 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: Writing Process Blog Hop | Welcome To My Worlds

  4. Hi Dyane, It’s so interesting to read about what everyone is working on and their working process. I enjoyed reading your answers it helps me get to know you a little better. I don’t know the writers you chose so I’ll check out their sites. 🙂

    Like

    • Dyane says:

      Hey there, girl! Thanks for checking it out–it’s a cool activity since I get to learn more about other writers as well as myself in the process! And please check them out! They are really great people with unique voices. Thanks again for stopping by, Vasthi!

      Like

  5. kyrahalland says:

    Great post! It’s interesting how many writers say they write what they want to read but have trouble finding. I think the best, most authentic writing comes from that – and for every writer writing what they want to read and can’t find, there must be readers out there looking for that too! Even if it’s only a few, it’s such a pleasure to connect with readers who like the same stories and characters and ideas I do.

    Like

    • Dyane says:

      Absolutely! I’d gotten the idea from a famous author (Toni Morrison, I think) and I thought it was a great idea. You’re right. It does make for authentic and deeply personal writing which is best for connecting with readers. 🙂

      Like

  6. Good post Dyane, always enjoy reading about your thought process

    Like

  7. Glynis says:

    Great post Dyane! I think a lot of us, writers, do what’s contrary to common wisdom. I write and edit as I go too, but I’m trying to break away from it. It’s sooo hard! ;)This was a wonderful insightful venture into your writing process. Thanks for joining in on the fun!

    Like

  8. Thanks for the glimpse into your world Dyane. It’s interesting how many authors say they write the stories they wanted to read but couldn’t find. I think that’s a real sign of a creative and inquisitive mind. It’s also interesting how many of us like puzzles of one form or another… Thought-provoking post!

    Like

    • Dyane says:

      Thanks! Oh, I do love puzzles! I think it’s a sign of a mind thirsting to be active 🙂 Writing is a perfect solution, as there are so many moving parts to the creation of a piece. Thanks for reading and sending along your thoughts. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

