Submitting to the Submission Process

So I’m submitting again. Short stories. Yes! I can’t wait for the rejections to come flying my way!

pinicchio

Okay, truth be told I stopped submitting for that reason, actually. Yes, it’s lame. Yes, it’s defeatist. But I’m just human and the string of “No’s” was getting brutal. Like, “I suck at this!” brutal.

So why have I started back up? Well, with the help of my new writing group and after a year of growth as a writer I feel like I have something better to offer. Old stories are being given new life as I go over them with fresh perspective and a new skill set I didn’t have before. And I suppose I’m curious to see what kind of reaction I get this time around.

Probably more “No’s” but I won’t know for sure until I try. πŸ™‚

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Essays, Misc and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Submitting to the Submission Process

  1. Katie Cross says:

    I’m proud of you. Dyane! You’re getting back on that horse, and you’re going to ride into the sunset with it eventually πŸ˜‰

    But you may have a few more mountains to cross first, danget.

    Like

  2. denmaniacs4 says:

    Good luck, Dyane.

    Like

  3. I hope you get the responses you want this time. Good luck.

    Like

  4. Yes, the rejections … they suck !! Lol Good for your that you are out there again. Positive thinking that this time it will be different Dyane πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. saracsnider says:

    Best of luck to you! πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. I love that attitude Dyane! Good on ya, stick with it. Looking forward to reading the posts about the ones which get accepted πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. A fair amount of the time, short story rejections are not about you or the story, but the market. Sometimes, editors are too pressed for time to tell us that in their form letters, but your story may be too similar to one they’ve already accepted, or it’s well-written, but just not right for that particular market.

    Part of the thrill of submitting for me is finding the perfect market for my story before that fourth and fifth and sixth rejection. It’s a challenge I take on wholeheartedly. Market analysis can be fun.

    Good on you for submitting again. I’m sure you’ll place your stories.

    Like

  8. Good for you, Dyane! It just takes one yes. So keep at it. I believe in your talent. πŸ˜€

    Like

  9. My local writing group has a competition called ‘Rejectomancy’. The idea is to set a goal for the number of rejections you hope to accrue in a year, and try and exceed it. The purpose is twofold: immunize yourself to rejections, and submit as much as you can in order to get stuff out there. Every rejection is a badge of honor.

    Like

  10. jazzfeathers says:

    I think it’s always worth trying. I’ll be going into submission process soon enough, so… I’m there with you πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Hey, I wish I had half the back catalogue of completed short story material that you have to work with. Sometimes it’s harder to invest in writing good short form stories than it is to write another chapter of a novel, because the novel feels like a bigger, and more worthy, project. But short stories are growing in importance with the rise of flash fiction and digital media, and if you look back through history they were always prominent in the collections of noted writers.

    Short stories are like a job resume: you tailor them to each submission. But if they still fail, you can always stick ’em on your website to create more eye candy to hook the casual reader.

    Looking forward to seeing the results!

    Like

Leave a Reply

