I Did it! I Applied for a Writing Mentorship!

As promised, I am writing a little about the fact that I recently applied for a writing mentorship offered through the Quebec Writers’ Federation–whose Sean Michaels just won one of Canada’s most prestigious and lucrative writing awards, the Scotiabank Giller Prize, as well as the Quebec Writers’ Federation’s Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction. Yes, I have lofty goals, but a writer has to start somewhere, right? Besides, the mentorship program was one of the features that interested most me when I discovered the Federation, and I waited a long time to be able to try my hand at it.

From klinger.io

From klinger.io

Now, it was an interesting application process, which required a one page cover letter and 8-10 pages of my novel, both of which had to be presented anonymously. I believe the mentors are in the process of being chosen, so I had no idea who I was pitching to, or if there will even be a mentor keen on working with the type of story I presented, so I felt kinda blind. Still, it might have helped to not have a specific audience in mind because I went about writing my cover letter in the same way I usually write my blog posts: in my voice and with the same level of openness and sincerity. I wanted them to meet ‘me’ on paper. Time will tell if this proved the right thing to do, but it felt right to me, anyway.

As for the story (and cover letter), I was lucky to have the editing help and feedback of Cairo Amani, who is never afraid to say what she thinks. In the end, I think I ended up producing a strong pitch.

Will my efforts pay off? Who knows? But it was a great opportunity to practice presenting myself, my writing point of view, and my story, something every writer has to keep doing. Cuz you never know when it just might pay off. 😉

Thanks for reading! Have you been mentored? How did you find that person, and was it a successful pairing? Please share!

And, for those who are interested in writing about the Other, Cairo will be guest blogging about that in a few weeks. To see her last post, click here.

Have a great rest of the week, everyone!

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Essays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Did it! I Applied for a Writing Mentorship!

  1. Cairo says:

    Thank you for the shoutout, Dyane!

    I think your application will get some attention! If it does not, this was a dope first step to success! 🙂

    Like

  2. Hello Dyane. Interesting post. I had never heard of this type of mentoring. It’s almost like the querying process, except instead of getting an agent you get a mentor. Are these mentors successful writers? Good for you for going after what you want.

    Like

  3. Well done, Dyane. I’ll be interested to hear how it goes.

    Like

  4. jazzfeathers says:

    What a fantastic opportunity. I really hope you’ll get the mentorship. Confronting ourselves with a professional who knows the job inside out… I’d love to do it myself. Mah… maybe one day…

    I’m working on presentation matrial myself, because soon I’ll start sending my novel out. Can’t say I’m enjoying it. Mostly I have a very hard time understanding what’s effective and what’s not. Writing the actual story isn’t this clueless… well, at least not for me.

    Like

    • Dyane says:

      Thanks! I’m sure there will be many applicants, but who knows? I still have to try 🙂

      Oh, I know! It’s not fun at all. The good news is that there are a lot of information and tools out there to help: I’ve heard of an activity called pitch wars, for example, and there are a lot of blogs/websites which present useful information. When I was querying, some agents and publishers actually gave instructions and tips on how to prepare the required materials. On the other hand, it can be overwhelming, and no agent/publisher asks for the same thing. Best of luck on your quest, and if you get a hit, let me know. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

