Guest Post: Adventures in Indie Publishing (Dyane Ford)

Belinda Hughes hosts me on her writing blog, BELINDA Y. HUGHES: WRITING, EDITING & SOCIAL MEDIA, where I share about my indie publishing experiences with online distributors, share tips, and talk about ups and downs of the over all experience.

The Purple Morrow is available on Smashwords and Kindle, soon to be available on paperback. Look for the sequel, Wolf’s Bane, in January 2015!

 

Belinda Y. Hughes: Writing, Editing & Social Media

DYANE FORD cover art

It’s been three years since I completed my book, The Purple Morrow, followed by a year spent looking for ways to get it published and distributed, followed by another seeing how things went from there. With how simple self-publishing has become over the last few years, you’re probably wondering why I didn’t just skip all that and jump instead onto Create Space or Kindle and do it myself.

The truth is I did try. But years ago, when I was ready to get my book into the hands of readers, the self-publishing companies weren’t as user-friendly as they are now. I tinkered with various platforms: Blurb, Create Space, and Kindle and got the same problem every time: a major case of frustration. I had NO idea how to format. It became so irritating that I abandoned the whole thing and ran without passing go to a company who could…

View original post 1,032 more words

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Essays, Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

