The Seven Things (About My Writing) Challenge

Recently, Ken Mooney and Lela Markham, two good author friends, tagged me in a fun and informal writing activity. The assignment: post seven things about your writing…

Only seven? Okay, okay. Write, then edit and revise, right?

*flexes fingers* Here we go!

Writing-Process-A-Blog-Hop

  • For the first time, I’m working on plotting a novel. For my first two published books, The Purple Morrow and Wolf’s Bane (and basically anything I have written until now), I wrote them based on what I felt the story needed as well as how the characters evolved. However, now that I am writing the last book of my trilogy, I decided to modify my usual method to make sure I hit all the essential story points. I’ll let you know if I survive.
  • I’ve been off my normal writing rampage in order to rest my elbow, which has been hit with tendonitis for the last few months. Not fun.
  • My kids like to write as well. I like to think they have been influenced by watching me. 🙂
  • I love to chat with readers and other authors, and I get really giddy when I find new messages and review requests in my inboxes.
  • Self-marketing and promotion are the biggest challenges for me. I just find them emotionally and mentally draining, not to mention time-consuming.
  • I’m thrilled to be surrounded by great author friends who include me in activities like this. When I started writing, it was a really lonely time. Now, it’s wonderful to know there are people I can turn to for ideas, information, contacts, writing activities and collaborations, and even a shoulder to cry on. Writing’s tough, man.
  • I enjoy blogging about writing almost as much as writing stories. I think it’s because I like communicating with readers in a voice closest to my natural one (i.e. without all the trappings affiliated with fiction writing). I feel like I’m still telling stories, just in a different, more conversational way.

Now, who to tag? Phil Partington, Katie Cross, Cairo Amani. You’re up!

 

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Seven Things (About My Writing) Challenge

  1. Cairo says:

    Totally doing it this week! “I think it’s because I like communicating with readers in a voice closest to my natural one (i.e. without all the trappings affiliated with fiction writing).”– I like that. I think that’s very telling of you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sknicholls says:

    Sorry about the elbow. I had frozen shoulder once and was in therapy for 12 weeks before the pain left me. Ouch! My first novel was panster styled, but I had to outline the little crime novel I wrote because things got complicated. That’s when I fell in love with Scrivener.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dyane says:

      Wow! That sounds intense! Glad the shoulder loosened up.
      I really hate to plan lol But I have no choice. I’m planning on doing it old school, story boarding with cue cards lol I’m a mechanical learner/problem solver like that, it seems 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. J. S. Bailey says:

    Your 6th point is true for me as well. When my first book came out, I had no idea that authors were supposed to network with people. I love how social media makes it so easy for like-minded people to connect! I’ve “met” so many wonderful writers and bloggers these past few years, and I love it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jazzfeathers says:

    Hey, a friend did the same to me. I posted seven things about myself on my blog too 🙂

    I enjoyed reading the seven things about yourself. I feel like I know you a bit better. And you know? I love blogging too, nearly as much as writing… but not quite like 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Katie Cross says:

    I didn’t used to really have a “process” either, but now I’m figuring one out. Writing a series has opened my eyes to the importance of organization with stuff like this, so I’m trying to be more organized about it 🙂

    Not that it’s working, anyway.

    Loved reading about this, Dyane! Thanks for tagging me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

