Book Review: Glenn Hates Books Vol. 1: Brutally Honest Book Reviews

Glenn Hates Books Vol. 1: Brutally Honest Book ReviewsGlenn Hates Books Vol. 1: Brutally Honest Book Reviews by Glenn Conley

Blurb: 

WARNING: There’s a lot of unnecessary profanity in this book.
Why? Because… Because REASONS!

This book contains over 100 brutally honest book reviews. These laugh-out-loud reviews are offensive in every way possible. There’s so much unnecessary profanity, it’s crazy. But it’s not the profanity or offensiveness that makes this book worth reading. It’s the honesty.

You will find 1 star reviews in this book, that absolutely tear the book to shreds, because the book was really that bad. But you will also find 5 star reviews in this book, because the book was actually that good.

It contains reviews of popular books such as Gone Girl, The Giver, The Maze Runner, and many other popular books. Of course, it also includes plenty of books you’ve probably never heard of.

There’s reviews that urge you to read a book, because it’s so good. And also, reviews that warn you to stay the hell away from certain books, because they’re bad. So bad.

In the end, you’ll laugh while reading this book. And cry. And possibly vomit. You’ve been warned.

The Review:

“Here is my book: Glenn Hates Books Vol. 1. It’s a collection of hilarious book reviews that are sure to amuse you. That is, if you have a sick sense of humor, as I do.”

Well, Mr. Conley warned me. His reviews are definitely not for the faint of heart.
I’ll begin by saying that I found this a hard book to review. How do you review a book containing the author’s feelings and opinions about what he’s read? And, if he chose to express those opinions in the most prickly and colorful way possible, to the point I sometimes feared my reader would spontaneously combust, what of it? People can write what they want, right?

Conley reviews books of all types and genres, from literary fiction to Young Adult, science fiction and some fantasy. There are also a few books included that I wish I hadn’t learned about—there really are some sick puppies out there writing about some sick stuff. There were times when, after closing my reader for the day, I actually felt nauseous. That said, there were a few novels that piqued my interest and, if I run across them while browsing, I just might pick them up.

So, the first half or so of the book was dedicated to the 1-3 star rated novels. These sections were the most difficult to read because of the profanity. Until I read this book, I had no idea there were so many colorful ways to use the F-word–as both an insult and a verb–to express how terrible something was. However, underneath all that I noted that Conley had some valid points: Why would anyone enjoy a novel with no story, or tension or conflict? Wouldn’t I be annoyed if something billed as a novel was in fact only a novelette? Or what about novels filled with characters no one cares about? Or the prequels or sequels that inexplicably have no connection to the original novel—the one I liked so much I decided to spend money on said prequel or sequel? These were all important issues that can make–or break–a book.

Books Conley did like were written up with thoughtful commentary, including why he thought the book was successful. Thankfully, these reviews were presented with less profanity and—this made me laugh–even grudging admiration.

Curious? I’d suggest first checking out the rating system to get a taste of what you’re in for. I read it to my sister and she laughed, saying she would read the book just because of it.

I would recommend this book to someone who is not easily offended and who can appreciate the book for what it is: one man’s very honest opinion about books. I found the last section, where he shares about his background and relationship with books, to be equally interesting. It helps explain the book’s context, which suggests the spirit in which it should be received.

View all my reviews

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Book Review: Glenn Hates Books Vol. 1: Brutally Honest Book Reviews

  1. Reviewing a reviewer! Love your style. It does sound like a very amusing read. Cussing is natural, brash – but to the point. Thanks for writing this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Drae Box says:

    Pretty interesting book! Thank you for reviewing it – I might not have heard of it otherwise!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

