Author Interview with Horror Writer Michael Aronovitz

Welcome, everyone! It’s time for another interview, this time with horror writer Michael Aronovitz. Judging from the reviews of his book, The Witch of the Wood, his works are must-reads for horror lovers. Read on to meet today’s guest!

It’s great to have you with us today. Would you mind starting us off by telling us a little about yourself?

I am a college professor of English and a baseball nut.  I love heavy metal music and horror movies.

Where does writing fit into your busy life, and what keeps you motivated/inspired when discouragement sets in?

I write at every available opportunity.  At the moment I am only teaching college classes so I have a bit more time, but when I taught in public schools I would write for a couple of hours each morning and all day on the weekends.  Often, I would bring pages drafted in the morning to school and revise them on my breaks.  In terms of discouragement, I don’t see it that way.  Every page and scene is fun to write no matter how much I obsess.  Reconstructing the “discouraging” rough work is part of the process.

What’s your writing background?

I have published two novels and two collections.

When it comes to reviews, do you have a thick skin?  How do you handle negative feedback?

When I am fortunate enough to have a review of my work appear somewhere I celebrate regardless of the “thumbs up or down.”  The fun is being reviewed in the first place.  It means people are talking about the work!  As for negative feedback, I take it to heart and move on.  Hey…it’s still someone talking about the work.

What inspires your stories?  What draws you to your preferred genre?

My initial inspiration was Stephen King and his ability to draw characters.  In reference to genre, horror is really just my favorite spice.  It interests me and keeps me reading (and writing).  The supernatural opens up strange timelines, and it makes things more fun.  Add a time limitation or two, something at stake, and a gut-wrenching discovery and you have the essence of why horror works for me.

Can you tell us about your books?  What other projects are you working on?

Interview2Seven Deadly Pleasures and The Voices in Our Heads are collections of stories I published around the horror marketplace starting in 2007.  Alice Walks is my first novel, a ghost story, and your featured novel here The Witch of the Wood is my second novel, more a dark apocalyptic journey.  My third novel titled Phantom Effect is a serial killer / supernatural piece to be published by Night Shade Books in February of 2016, and my first young adult novel titled Becky’s Kiss comes out through Vinspire Press this coming November.

How did you build your writing support team?  Do you have tips and suggestions for other writers?

A great question.  I built my “team” begging and pleading to anyone who would listen.  I was incredibly fortunate back in 2007 that horror scholar and Lovecraft biographer S.T. Joshi took an interest in my fiction and put my first collection through Hippocampus.  Since then I have been lucky enough to have contact with other writers like Alistair Cross and Tamara Thorne, those who not only write wonderful fiction themselves, but have given me exposure on Haunted Nights Live (as well as some blurbs).  I also bounce ideas off a couple of independent film directors from Australia named Donna McRae and Ursula Dabrowsky.  Locally, I have contact with Ken Bingham, writer, stage producer, editor, and teacher.  All these wonderful people are essential to my success.  I do not have an agent.  I have gotten all of my work published on my own.

What advice would you give to new writers, especially those looking to break into your genre?  Advice on marketing and selling?

I’ll answer the latter part first and assure you that I am learning the marketing as I go.  The more I explore in this business the more convinced I am that marketing is a major part of the deal.  My advice to new horror writers is always to stick with what you love.  Trends are fickle.

Hmmm. “Trends are fickle”. I like that statement very much. An excellent reminder to always focus on what drives us.

How can readers get in contact with you?

My website is currently http://michaelaronovitz.weebly.com/

My Facebook Author’s Page is: https://www.facebook.com/MichaelAronovitzAuthor?ref=hl

I am currently building a new website to be nicknamed “The Author’s Graveyard” and readers can email me at theauthorsgraveyard@gmail.com

Thank you so much for visiting with us today, and for sharing about your writing experiences. Readers, please let Michael Aronovitz know how much you enjoyed getting to know him by leaving a message below and/or connecting with him via his links. Thanks for reading!

 

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview with Horror Writer Michael Aronovitz

  1. Pingback: Links To My Latest Guest Blogs! | The Author's Graveyard

Leave a Reply

