A Teeny-Tiny Update on Upcoming Book Reviews

Hello, all! It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything personal but, luckily, I’ve had some great collaborators who have supplied me with interviews and guest posts to tide things over. I also took the time to add a few more book reviews to the blog.

Speaking of reviews, I’ve been really lucky. The last few books I’ve read by indie authors have been quite good. I’m excited to be able to post reviews Dead Reckoning by Michael Smart, and The Naughty Wife by Candi Silk. Look for them over the next few days. I’ll also be starting a book called Liar by a local Montreal author, Joanna Gosse.

Liar I am really looking forward to this one. I met Joanna Gosse a few weeks back at a workshop hosted by the Quebec Writers’ Federation. The topic was on self-publishing, where attendees could share their experiences, both good and bad. At the end of the meeting, I chatted with a few people including Ms. Gosse, when surprise, surprise, she gave me her book as a gift! Now that I think about it, I should have asked her to sign it, but I was so shocked I missed my chance to ask.

I get on the train to head home, when I decide to check out the blurb on the back of the book. Here’s what it says:

‘I yearn for
a sand between the toes
walk, on a sun-blinded beach
bare feet in the sea
sand shifting, tide tugging,
balance wobbled by ebb and flow,
Memories I haven’t lived
grow frail and sad for when
I yearn for
what I don’t have.’

That’s all. A book excerpt. It’s gorgeous, visual, moving prose. Immediately, I wanted to know what the speaker is longing for and what those un-lived memories are. I began to conjure all kinds of explanations. All these questions, in addition to what the words made me feel, got me crazy-excited to read the book. I haven’t found a book where I felt I could get lost in the prose since I read The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula Le Guin, which is another gorgeously written book.

So, I hope to have a review of Liar up soon. Until then, I hope you all are well!

Do you have a favorite book whose prose knocks you off your feet? Which one and what is it that you love so much? Tell us want to know about it! 🙂

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Essays, Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Teeny-Tiny Update on Upcoming Book Reviews

  1. Katie Cross says:

    Yay for book reviews!! I need to make more time for reading. I’m working so frantically hard to get my books finished before the baby comes that I keep forgetting to read! I”m determined to start reading half an hour before going to bed.

    Like

    • Dyane says:

      I can’t believe you have energy for what you are doing at the moment lol You are everywhere, Katie! 🙂 I hope you get to do your daily reading–book reviews are a great way to stay current on what’s out there, discover new books, as well as hone our own craft (by analyzing books). Best of luck! And thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

