Light at the End of the Tunnel

light

Well, it’s done. The last scene needed to complete the manuscript for book three of my Papilion Trilogy, Berserker, is done. All that’s left to do it to blend the snippets into the main story, to diligently consider the beta readers’ feedback I received (some of which is still on the way), and then hit the last rounds of editing.

I won’t lie. I felt like giving up. This has been the toughest year in writing yet, and there were more than a few periods when I felt like walking away. It’s tough to be a writer, tougher when resources are financially out of reach, when human resources are scarce (reviewers, beta readers), and when Life keeps getting in the way. Discouragement and lack of motivation were constant enemies; we wrestled a lot.

When I started The Purple Morrow four years ago or so, I had one book in mind. I purposely wrote a simple story, being that it had a complex theme : exploring self-doubt and loss and what it takes to move on, in a fantasy context. That grew to two books—Wolf’s Bane literally became the bane of my existence for 2 years, and Berserker—well, yeah. I was often two hairs shy of losing it more than once. … …Funny how the book titles see, to reflect my mental state at the time of writing…

Anyway, the end is in sight. Berserker started as a writing challenge :  write a million words in a year. I started out great—in two months I had about 50k or something. But then I hit a block and let the manuscript sit. I worked on other things while periodically going back and adding to it. But there were challenges, the main one being: How to write a satisfying trilogy ending? Some people have been faithful, reading all the books, they are invested in the characters and what’s happening to them, screaming at the end of book 2 and rabid for more–

Don’t you sometimes feel that writing the ending of a story is tough? So coming to writing the ending of a trilogy…

I was afraid of screwing it up.

Actually, I lied. I haven’t written the ending yet. But I will. I’m waiting for the editing to pull the story threads together to inspire the right ending in order to satisfy my readers. Fingers crossed.

Anyway, I guess this is a thank you to everyone who has read my books, who has motivated and encouraged me with their comments and feedback and support. Know that you played an important role in getting this project finished. 🙂

So, back to work! Still lots to do but at least now there is light at the end of the tunnel.

I’d love to hear your writing stories, both good and bad. Are you struggling, or riding the wave of success? Tell me about it 🙂

 

About Dyane

Dyane Forde’s love of writing began with an early interest in reading and of words in general. Writing has been a life-long passion and she writes all types of things, from short stories, novels, flash fiction and poetry. Dyane writes to communicate, meaning that writing becomes a means through which she seeks to connect with people on a level deeper than intellect.
This entry was posted in Essays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Light at the End of the Tunnel

  1. Hi Dyane, I can relate to the discouragement and the constant struggles of a writer’s life. Some people in the family have been very unsupportive with me over the years. I will never truly understand them but life has its ups and downs. The only people encouraging me to finish my first novel are my fiancè’s family, which I’m pleased with as I’ve reached the fourteenth chapter as well as writing up a few side projects. (one of them is done now but needs to be typed up as I hand-wrote it all). So pleased for you with your third book, though, by the way. Way to go! 🙂

    Like

    • Dyane says:

      Congrats on your hard work in getting so far in your project, Larissa! That’s great news 🙂
      And thanks. 🙂 Writing mirrors life with its ups and downs. Just have to keep plugging away.

      Like

  2. Drae says:

    Hi Dyane! Congratulations on almost finishing Berserker! I can’t wait to get my mits on it – let me know if there’s anything I can do to help you.

    I find that the writing part is fairly easy, but it is not without it’s challenges. Threat, the book I’m rewriting at the moment for the last time, has a new feel that I wasn’t expecting, and it makes me nervous. This sometimes leads to me not writing on a particular day, and usually I have to use a brainstorm to get going again. At the same time though, I feel it is also the better version of the book so far, despite my nerves about it.

    This week I released two of my books earlier than planned in their ebook formats. I’m struggling to get more people aware of them, even with one of them available for free, so that’s something I’m working on. I followed the advice of a lot of other authors – built up my platform over a year in advance, built my email list (which has had me get my first review for one of the books), engaged and communicated with others. I wasn’t expecting a lot of movement the first few weeks, so the struggle was somewhat expected. I’m sure if I keep experimenting and seeking and using advice that I’ll overcome it 🙂

    Like

    • Dyane says:

      Thanks!

      It’s always interesting to see how the stories we write evolve over time. It’s one reason I never rush to get a book out. For me, things seem to come over time, and ideas/inspiration pop up at the strangest times leading to new directions and fun challenges. Congratulations on your book releases! You’ve been working really hard and it sounds like you have been given good advice. Would love to know how things go 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Good for you that you did not give up Dyane 😊👍🏻

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on aurorawatcherak and commented:
    I know you can do it, Dyane.

    Like

Leave a Reply

