Author Interviews, Essays

Author Interview with Sarah Baethge

photoPlease welcome today’s guest author, paranormal/science-fiction/fantasy writer, Sarah Baethge. Today, she shares a little about her passion for writing, her new book, Radiant Shadows: Beginnings (which is currently free on Amazon until May 12th!), as well as the poem that inspired the book. 

Hello, Sarah. Can you start by telling us a little about yourself?

I am Sarah Baethge. I live in Texas at my step-mother’s donkey ranch. I currently have no job, and try to write whenever possible because I enjoy doing it.

Are you interested in other forms of artistic expression besides writing? What keeps you motivated/inspired?

I like to listen to music and to draw silly/cartoony pictures with a pencil. I have always enjoyed reading and more than once have been told that I have quite an imagination.

What forms of writing and genres do you prefer and why? What can you never see yourself writing?

I write short stories and am working on a series of novels that has a mad-scientist main character. I occasionally write poetry. You can read the free poem that inspired my latest book on Goodreads-And I was Hungry

21243694

As a reader, what do you think makes a good story? What’s one thing a ‘bad’ book taught you to not do in your own writing?

I dislike it when characters just accept what they don’t like or agree with, it makes me want to slap them. I suppose that has taught me to try to not let my characters become irredeemably irritating.

As a writer, what elements do you find are the most crucial to include in your stories? What are your strengths and weaknesses?

I want to make the motivation of my characters clear. Even if the reader doesn’t agree with what my people do, I want them to understand why an action was done.

Who/what are the biggest influences in your writing? How do they influence what you write?

I like Stephen King and Michael Chrichton. Dean Koontz is pretty cool too.

What draws you to your preferred genre? 

I like paranormal/sci-fi/fantasy because anything is possible. It’s great because the only limit is the author’s imagination. I can’t say why other people like it, but I wouldn’t be surprised if the reasoning is somewhat similar.

Can you tell us about your books? What other projects are you working on?

_winged coverMy newest book, Radiant Shadows: Beginnings was built upon the thought of “What if Edward just ATE Bella?” My bigger project that I have been working on for some time is a series that I call The Speed of Darkness. It involves a man whose self-experimentation that allows high sped travel results in an evil company’s wanting to hold him as a test subject, along with their secret zoo of supernatural test animals (mainly werewolves).

Note: Radiant Shadows: Beginnings will be free on Amazon until May 12!:

Why is it important to you to promote other writers on your blog or website?

I’ve done a few book reviews at http://sarahsreadings.wordpress.com/ because it gives me the chance to read some novels that I may never find otherwise.

What do you find is the most difficult aspect of writing and how do you cope with it?

I’ve gotten lost in my own imaginary worlds so far that I stop paying attention to what is happening in real life. To avoid that I try to only let myself write from noon to five/six pm. I don’t want to lose all realism in my fantasies.

 Who are your favourite writers and why?

I like the same writers who inspire me because they paint my dreams.

What advice would you give to new writers, especially those looking to break into your genre?

I would say that if you have an idea or story in your mind, you should go ahead and write it. If you’ve no ideas, perhaps writing fiction isn’t your thing.

How can readers get into contact with you?

Twitter: http://twitter.com/22niel

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/SarahBaethge

G+:http://plus.google.com/u/0/+%E7%B1%B3%E6%9C%BA%E7%94%9F%E8%8B%9B/about

LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/22niel

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5226644.Sarah_Baethge

I hope you enjoyed meeting Sarah Baethge as much as I did. Sarah, all the best in the release of your book and in your future projects. Readers, thanks for stopping by again today, and please leave Sarah Baethge a message here and on her other social media links.  🙂

Have a great week, everyone!

 

Leave a comment